Anxiety

Fear comes in waves,

White horses of the apocalypse,

Bringing pestilent waste,

Benighting bright promise until,

Mania breaks over sanity’s safe shore.

But still I will,

Kick for the surface,

After going under for the third time.

And like the fit of the Scottish king,

Seeing ghosts of his best friend,

Which ended sleep forever,

It passes,

And I am a man again.

10 Responses to “Anxiety”

  1. Yes, we all dip in the Macbeth, but we emerge (if we’re lucky), able to sleep and pray again. Nice work.

  2. hypercryptical Says:

    Fear has the potential to eat away at us and sometimes we are swept up in its waves – tis good that you rise from the depths.
    Anna

  3. Fear can paralyse and ruin our days, if we let it. I really enjoyed this – a great description of fighting on through.

  4. I felt the emotions in these words, and I liked the idea that anxiety passes and we are men again

  5. I could feel waves of fear and waves of hope….a beautiful expression.

  6. You capture this so well–

  7. whew…those moments when overun with anxiety…it is def like those waves…and we have to choose to survive them…or let them take us…

  8. A sentiment I know well, although perhaps I don’t express it quite so well with your fighting spirit.

  9. “And like the fit of the Scottish king,

    Seeing ghosts of his best friend,

    Which ended sleep forever,

    It passes,

    And I am a man again.”

    The whole thing is wonderful, but I love these lines especially.

Say something

